Back to Glossary

Market Order

Market orders allow traders to directly access an order book's liquidity by buying or selling into the closest sell orders or buy orders. When creating a market order, traders size their order by enterin the amount in Euro in case of a buy or the amount of the crypto asset in question if they want to sell. Unlike with a limit order, entering a price is not necessary. The order is automatically executed at the best price available.

Usually, a market order does not show up in the order book because it is executed instantaneously. This results in a market order only being visible to other market participants after the fact in the trade log which is constantly tracking all executed trades.

A market order results in a higher taker order fee as it depletes an orderbook's liquidity instead of adding to it.

Market orders have their use nonetheless: They are usually executed instantaneously while limit orders, in theory, can remain in the book for a long time without being executed. This can be especially important when price is trending or exhibits high degrees of volatility. Market orders also are an element of stop market orders which are used for risk management.

Screenshot: Market Order

Interested in Bitcoin? Trade with BSDEX now!

Start now

Interested in Bitcoin? Trade Bitcoins with BSDEX today!

Start now

Zurück zum Glossar

Market Order

Mit einer Market Order greifen Händler direkt auf die Liquidität des Orderbuches zu, indem sie die am nächsten stehenden Verkaufsangebote oder Kaufgebote wahrnehmen. Beim Erstellen einer Market Order bestimmen Händler unter „Nettobetrag“ beziehungsweise „Anzahl“ den Betrag in Euro, der gekauft, oder die Menge eines Crypto-Assets, die verkauft werden soll. Im Gegensatz zur Limit Order wird kein Preis angegeben. Dies ist nicht nötig, da automatisch zum besten im Oderbuch verfügbaren Preis gekauft oder verkauft wird.

Die Market Order erscheint normalerweise nicht im Orderbuch, da sie augenblicklich ausgeführt wird. Sie ist damit für andere Marktteilnehmer erst im Trade Log sichtbar, das die abgeschlossenen Geschäfte auflistet.

Market Orders unterliegen als Taker Orders einer höheren Gebühr, da sie dem dem Orderbuch Liquidität entziehen, anstatt zur Liquidität beizusteuern.

Nützlich sind Market Orders dennoch: Sie werden augenblicklich ausgeführt, während Limit Orders theoretisch sehr lange im Orderbuch bleiben können, ohne bedient zu werden. Dies kann besonders wichtig werden, wenn der Preis sich in einem starken Trend befindet oder die Volatilität sehr hoch ist. Market Orders sind zudem ein Bestandteil von Stop Market Orders, die zum Risiko Management verwendet werden.

Screenshot: Market Order

Interesse an Bitcoin? Jetzt mit BSDEX handeln!

Jetzt loslegen

Interesse an Bitcoin? Jetzt mit BSDEX heute noch Bitcoin handeln!

Jetzt loslegen