Back to Glossary

Stop Market Order

Stop market orders are a more complex variant of market orders. A condition, the so-called trigger, is added to the market order. Traders that want to place a stop market order enter the price where the market order needs to be executed in the “stop price” field. If price rises (in the case of a buy order) or falls (in case of a sell order) to the previously defined level, a market order is activated and then executed at the best price available. The executed price can vary greatly depending on market conditions as strong movements in either direction can create slippage.

This order type is used predominantly when market participants are waiting for a price level that they would expect to result in higher (in case of stop market buys) or lower (in case of stop market sells) prices.

Consequently, stop market orders are an important piece of so-called “break out trading” and risk management. After traders assumed their position and defined a price under or above their loss would become too high or their thesis would be invalidated, they place a stop market order that would automatically close their position if that price point is reached.

Screenshot: Stop Market Order

Interested in Bitcoin? Trade with BSDEX now!

Start now

Interested in Bitcoin? Trade Bitcoins with BSDEX today!

Start now

Zurück zum Glossar

Stop Market Order

Stop Market Orders sind eine komplexere Variante der Market Orders. Der Market Order wird eine Bedingung, der sogenannte Trigger, hinzugefügt. Händler, die eine Stop Market Order plazieren wollen, geben im Feld „Stop-Preis“ den Preis an, an dem die Market Order aktiviert werden soll. Steigt (im Fall einer Kauforder) oder fällt (im Fall einer Verkaufsorder) der Preis danach auf oder durch diesen Level, wird die Market Order aktiviert und anschließend zum bestmöglichen Preis ausgeführt. Der endgültig realisierte Preis einer Stop Market Order kann je nach herrschenden Bedingungen im Markt stark variieren, da stärkere Bewegung häufig in Slippage resultieren.

Dieser Order Typ findet Verwendung, wenn Marktteilnehmer auf einen bestimmten Preis warten, der ihres Erachtens nach zu höheren (im Fall von Stop Market Käufen) oder zu niedrigeren Preisen (im Fall von Stop Market Verkäufen) führen wird.

Stop Market Orders sind damit ein wichtiger Bestandteil von sogenannten „Breakout Trades“ und dem Risikomanagement. Sind Händler in einer Position und haben einen Preis definiert, unter, beziehungsweise über dem ihr Verlust zu groß oder ihre These ungültig wird, setzen sie eine Stop Market Order, um die Position zu schließen.

Screenshot: Stop Market Order

Interesse an Bitcoin? Jetzt mit BSDEX handeln!

Jetzt loslegen

Interesse an Bitcoin? Jetzt mit BSDEX heute noch Bitcoin handeln!

Jetzt loslegen